When Life Hands You A Pepper, Stuff It!

Oh Oh Oh Oh Oh, Oh Oh Oh Oh
You got the right ‘stuff,’ pepper.
You’re the reason why I write this blog.

I realize I might have just dated myself with this NKOTB reference, but the opportunity was just too good to pass up.

Beautiful colors, fantastic flavors and great nutritional value. These Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers really do have the right stuff. They are perfect for spring time meals and simultaneously act as cheerful table decor.

The first step is to remove the seeds and membranes from the peppers. You can cut the peppers horizontally or vertically, whichever way you prefer. I did both to add a little dimension to the presentation.

The key to tender peppers is to blanch them for 4-5 minutes before you fill them. Place the peppers in salted boiling water and remove them carefully with tongs.

Now for the filling: sauteed onions, garlic and jalapenos accompanied by black beans, corn, enchilada sauce, Mexican rice, seasonings, cheddar cheese and any leftover bell peppers you have.

Pack the filling into the pepper, bake at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes and you have yourself a gorgeous meal!

It's actually quite a filling meal. Puns aside, I was stuffed!

10 responses »

  1. You crack me up big time. My mouth is watering. What a great idea – these look amazing – I think I’m going to make them soon. YOU’VE got the right stuff, babeh.

    Reply
  2. And it’s perfect for us veggie lovers :)

    Reply
  3. Nice!! Now your challenge should you accept it, is to make a 1D reference for your nieces (by blood & adopted)!! ;) Hint: they are British & one of them loves carrots!

    Reply
  4. Great! I like it :-)!

    Reply
  5. In all the years I’ve made stuffed peppers I never thought to blanch them beforehand, thank you that makes soooooo much sense! A great tip :)

    Reply
  6. These look so tasty. Never had stuffed pepper before – I’ve a feeling that’s soon going to change. Loved the title!

    Reply
  7. My kids LOVE this recipe. We add ground turkey on occasion. It’s yummy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

